These people that you mention? I guess for the sake of
full disclosure, I should come clean and acknowledge that
I knew them slightly. Well, I mean, I didn’t really know them
per se, but we hung out occasionally, perhaps not “hung out”
in the usual sense of the word, but I think I saw them a couple
of times while bringing a book back to the Library.

As I stood at the Returns desk, I could see them slouching out
by those seedy hexagons over by the stairwell, squinting at
hallucinations & fixing beady eyes on the wallets &
erotically strategic body-parts of random passersby.

I’d been warned about these people. Lice, crabs, scabies
& shingles were all in the realm of the Very Fucking
Likely if you got too close to ’em.

One of them bummed a cigerette (sic) which she lit with a
smoldering reefer that had previously dangled somewhat
loosely from her thickly lipsticked mouth. We got on OK
I suppose, well maybe not OK but kind of interesting till
she got all annoying about the conspiracy shit, and yeah
…come to think of it, they were SOOOO fuckin’ rude! IF
THAT FOUL-MOUTHED DYKE CUNT EVER SENDS ME AN
EMAIL LIKE THAT AGAIN I’M GONNA–!!

Ahem, excuse me…lost my train of thought there
for a sec…

What I mean to say is, on the hole I think it was a
positive experience, well it was OK I guess, well…except
for these bedbug bites I got while–oh, never mind…

